Retatrutide Pharmacokinetics and Half-Life: What Studies Report

Jump to a section
  1. What the reviewed clinical trials report about dosing frequency and administration
  2. What the reviewed sources report (and do not report) about pharmacokinetics and half-life
  3. Indirect context from reviews and meta-analyses
  4. Implications for interpreting dosing frequency versus pharmacokinetic parameters
  5. Reported study-design details from cited sources
  6. Limitations and research gaps
  7. Documentation checklist
  8. Related research supplies
  9. More Retatrutide research
  10. Sources and references

Disclosure: Peptide Bio Index is affiliated with SourcePoint Research and may earn from qualifying purchases or affiliate links.

This article summarizes published research and reported study designs. It is not medical advice, dosing guidance, or a personal-use recommendation.

Source-limited research note: The reviewed sources were incomplete, ambiguous, or insufficient for a normal article. This page labels missing details rather than guessing.

Retatrutide (LY3437943) is described in the reviewed sources as a synthetic triple-receptor agonist with activity at the glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide (GIP), glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1), and glucagon receptors; clinical development has progressed through Phase 1–2 and into Phase 3 programs. (source_ids: S3, S6, S1)

What the reviewed clinical trials report about dosing frequency and administration

Clinical trials of retatrutide reported in the reviewed sources used once-weekly subcutaneous dosing in randomized studies: the Phase 2 obesity trial administered subcutaneous retatrutide once weekly across multiple dose groups (1 mg, 4 mg, 8 mg, 12 mg, with specified starting-dose escalation strategies for some groups) for up to 48 weeks (primary endpoint reported at 24 weeks) (source_ids: S3); a separate Phase 2 trial in people with type 2 diabetes tested once-weekly subcutaneous retatrutide across multiple maintenance doses (including 0.5 mg, 4 mg, 8 mg, and 12 mg with escalation regimens) with efficacy reported to 24 and 36 weeks (source_ids: S6); the Phase 3 TRIUMPH program is described as evaluating weekly subcutaneous retatrutide versus placebo across multiple registrational trials (source_ids: S1). [S3] [S6] [S1]

What the reviewed sources report (and do not report) about pharmacokinetics and half-life

Across the reviewed Phase 2 and Phase 3-design sources, explicit pharmacokinetic parameters—including terminal elimination half-life, Cmax, Tmax, AUC, clearance, and volume of distribution—are not presented in the provided excerpts. The clinical reports focus on dosing regimens, efficacy (weight and glycaemic endpoints), safety, and tolerability, but the reviewed excerpts do not provide numeric PK or half-life values for retatrutide (explicit PK parameter reporting: not reported in the reviewed source). (source_ids: S3, S6, S1) [S3] [S6] [S1]

Indirect context from reviews and meta-analyses

Review articles and network meta-analyses in the reviewed set summarize retatrutide's efficacy and clinical development trajectory and note its use as a weekly injectable investigational agent with substantial weight-loss effects, but these sources do not supply primary PK parameter tables or half-life estimates in the provided excerpts. They place retatrutide in the class of long-acting incretin-based multi-receptor peptides used with weekly schedules in clinical studies, without reporting numeric elimination half-life in the reviewed excerpts (explicit PK parameter reporting: not reported in the reviewed source). (source_ids: S5, S2, S8, S4) [S5] [S2] [S8] [S4]

Implications for interpreting dosing frequency versus pharmacokinetic parameters

The presence of once-weekly subcutaneous dosing across the clinical program (Phase 2 and planned Phase 3) is clearly documented in the reviewed trial reports and protocols, but that trial-level scheduling information should not be conflated with explicitly reported PK parameter values; the reviewed sources do not provide terminal half-life estimates or other primary PK metrics for retatrutide (explicit PK parameter reporting: not reported in the reviewed source). Researchers seeking numeric PK/half-life data will need to consult dedicated clinical pharmacology publications, regulatory pharmacokinetic submissions, trial supplements, or investigator brochures that are not included in these reviewed excerpts. (source_ids: S3, S6, S1) [S3] [S6] [S1]

Reported study-design details from cited sources

The following table summarizes protocol details reported in cited studies. These details are provided as literature context only and are not recommendations or instructions.

Source Study Type Model / Subject Amount Reported Route Reported Frequency Duration Notes
[S3] Phase 2 randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial Adults with obesity (BMI ≥30 or BMI 27– 1 mg, 4 mg (various starting-dose escalation schemes), 8 mg (various starting-dose escalation schemes), 12 mg Subcutaneous Once weekly 48 weeks (efficacy endpoints reported at 24 and 48 weeks) Multiple maintenance dose groups (1 mg, combined 4 mg groups, combined 8 mg groups, 12 mg) with some groups having specified initial lower starting doses for escalation; primary endpoint at 24 weeks with secondary at 48 weeks. PK parameters such as terminal half-life not reported in the reviewed excerpt.
[S6] Phase 2 randomized, double-blind, placebo and active-controlled parallel-group clinical trial Adults with type 2 diabetes (HbA1c 7.0–10.5%, BMI 25–50 kg/m2) 0.5 mg, 4 mg (with starting dose 2 mg or no escalation), 8 mg (starting dose 2 mg or 4 mg escalation), 12 mg (starting dose 2 mg) Subcutaneous Once weekly 36 weeks (efficacy/endpoints reported at 24 and 36 weeks) Multiple maintenance dose groups (0.5 mg, 4 mg with/without escalation, 8 mg with differing escalation schedules, 12 mg with escalation); safety and glycaemic/weight endpoints reported to 36 weeks. PK parameters such as terminal half-life not reported in the reviewed excerpt.
[S1] Phase 3 multicenter randomized, double-blind trials (TRIUMPH program; four trials/basket design) Phase 3 registrational program population(s) (adults with obesity and adiposity-related complications) not reported in the reviewed source Subcutaneous Once weekly not reported in the reviewed source TRIUMPH program described as weekly subcutaneous retatrutide versus placebo across >5800 participants in multiple nested trials for weight management, obstructive sleep apnea, and knee osteoarthritis. Specific maintenance dose(s), PK metrics, and trial durations are not reported in the reviewed excerpt.

Limitations and research gaps

  • None of the reviewed source excerpts (Phase 2 trial reports or Phase 3 program descriptions and reviews) provide quantitative pharmacokinetic parameters or an explicit terminal half-life for retatrutide; explicit PK values are not reported in the reviewed source. (source_ids: S3, S6, S1, S5)
  • The reviewed evidence focuses on dosing regimens, efficacy, and safety outcomes; absence of PK reporting in these excerpts limits the ability to summarize absorption, distribution, clearance, or half-life. (source_ids: S3, S6)
  • Some review and meta-analysis articles summarize clinical efficacy and weekly dosing schedules but do not replace primary pharmacology reports; definitive PK/half-life information may exist in other documents (e.g., dedicated PK manuscripts, regulatory filings, or sponsor technical reports) that were not provided for review. (source_ids: S5, S2, S8)

Documentation checklist

  • Confirm whether an original clinical pharmacology (PK) or first-in-human manuscript for retatrutide is available; if not, expect limited publicly reported PK parameters in phase 2/3 efficacy papers. (source_ids: S3, S6)
  • When extracting PK parameters, check trial supplements, regulatory submissions, and dedicated pharmacology abstracts (not always in primary efficacy reports). (source_ids: S3, S6, S1)
  • Distinguish reported dosing schedules (route, frequency, dose groups, study duration) from explicit PK parameters (Cmax, Tmax, AUC, clearance, terminal half-life) which may be absent. (source_ids: S3, S6, S1)
  • Temperature-monitored refrigerated storage unit (for investigational biologics documentation and inventory)
  • Laboratory/sample labeling and barcode inventory sheets (for trial drug accountability records)
  • Study drug cold-chain temperature logs (documentation templates)
  • Surface and equipment-compatible disinfectant wipes (facility cleaning supplies, non-administrative)

Research organization supplies: Common tools used for research documentation workflows may include lab notebooks, label makers, sample storage boxes, inventory stickers, and temperature log sheets.

Paid-link disclosure: Peptide Bio Index may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Batch and inventory labeling

Phomemo M110 Label and Barcode Printer

A compact thermal label printer for inventory identifiers, storage-box labels, batch references, and document-folder organization.

View on Amazon (paid link)

Label-printer refill

Phomemo M110 White Replacement Labels

White 1.57 × 0.78 inch replacement labels for compatible Phomemo printers. Confirm printer and label-size compatibility before ordering.

View on Amazon (paid link)

Product listings, specifications, and availability can change. Review the current Amazon listing and manufacturer instructions before ordering. These links are for research organization and compatible surface/equipment-cleaning workflows, not personal-use guidance.

Research Supply Note: SourcePoint Research currently lists SPR-3RT for research-use-only sourcing. Review current availability and the exact batch documentation at SourcePointResearch.com. This article does not independently certify a SourcePoint batch. Peptide Bio Index is affiliated with SourcePoint Research.

Sources and references

  1. [S1] Giblin K, Kaplan LM, Somers VK, Le Roux CW, Hunter DJ, Wu Q. Retatrutide for the treatment of obesity, obstructive sleep apnea and knee osteoarthritis: Rationale and design of the TRIUMPH registrational clinical trials.. Diabetes, obesity & metabolism. 2026. PMID: 41090431. DOI: 10.1111/dom.70209
  2. [S2] Liu S, Hu J, Zhao C, Liu H, He C. Comparative efficacy of incretin drugs on glycemic control, body weight, and blood pressure in adults with overweight or obesity and with/without type 2 diabetes: a systematic review and network meta-analysis.. Frontiers in endocrinology. 2025. PMID: 39968298. DOI: 10.3389/fendo.2025.1513641
  3. [S3] Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frías JP, Wu Q, Du Y, Gurbuz S. Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity – A Phase 2 Trial.. The New England journal of medicine. 2023. PMID: 37366315. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa2301972
  4. [S4] Locatelli JC, Costa JG, Haynes A, Naylor LH, Fegan PG, Yeap BB. Incretin-Based Weight Loss Pharmacotherapy: Can Resistance Exercise Optimize Changes in Body Composition?. Diabetes care. 2024. PMID: 38687506. DOI: 10.2337/dci23-0100
  5. [S5] Katsi V, Koutsopoulos G, Fragoulis C, Dimitriadis K, Tsioufis K. Retatrutide-A Game Changer in Obesity Pharmacotherapy.. Biomolecules. 2025. PMID: 40563436. DOI: 10.3390/biom15060796
  6. [S6] Rosenstock J, Frias J, Jastreboff AM, Du Y, Lou J, Gurbuz S. Retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist, for people with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo and active-controlled, parallel-group, phase 2 trial conducted in the USA.. Lancet (London, England). 2023. PMID: 37385280. DOI: 10.1016/S0140-6736(23)01053-X
  7. [S7] Drucker DJ. Efficacy and Safety of GLP-1 Medicines for Type 2 Diabetes and Obesity.. Diabetes care. 2024. PMID: 38843460. DOI: 10.2337/dci24-0003
  8. [S8] Sinha B, Ghosal S. Efficacy and Safety of GLP-1 Receptor Agonists, Dual Agonists, and Retatrutide for Weight Loss in Adults With Overweight or Obesity: A Bayesian NMA.. Obesity (Silver Spring, Md.). 2025. PMID: 40685589. DOI: 10.1002/oby.24360

Peptide Bio Index is affiliated with SourcePoint Research. Articles may link to SourcePointResearch.com and third-party affiliate products. As an Amazon Associate, Peptide Bio Index earns from qualifying purchases. Content is educational and research-literature focused only and is not medical advice, dosing guidance, or a personal-use recommendation.